Anita Linda R. Aquino and Bruce J. Tolentino

MANILA, Philippines — President Rodrigo Duterte has named V. Bruce J. Tolentino and Anita Linda R. Aquino as full-time private sector representatives to the seven-member Monetary Board, the highest policy-making body of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP).

Tolentino — who first joined the board on June 18, 2018 — will have a fresh term of six years after serving the unexpired balance of the term of Valentin Araneta, who passed away last February 2018.

Before his appointment to the Monetary Board, Tolentino worked as Deputy Director-General of the International Rice Research Institute. He was also a chief economist and country representative at The Asia Foundation, senior technical adviser at the Agriculture and Natural Resources of the Catholic Relief Services, and senior economic policy adviser at the Asian Development Bank.

Incoming Monetary Board Member Aquino, meanwhile, was a member of the board of directors of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corp. representing the private sector.  Most recently, she also represented PDIC as board adviser to the United Coconut Planters Bank.

Moreover, Aquino served as Department of Finance chief of staff and held key positions at Standard Chartered Bank Manila, Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation, Citicorp Investment Bank in Singapore, and Citibank NA Manila.

“The BSP welcomes their appointment and looks forward to their contribution in the fulfillment of the [its] mandates,” the central bank said in a statement on Tuesday.

Read Next



Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Source Article